## Zachary Community School District Discipline Policy Review Committee

LRS 17:416.8 mandates that every school district create a Discipline Policy Review Committee, which shall meet annually to review the district discipline policy and make a report to the School Board as to any recommended revisions.

## The committee is made up of specific positions and requires representation covering Elementary and Secondary Levels.

- 5 Classroom teachers (Elected by Peers, representing Elementary, Middle, and High School)
- 1 Special Education teacher (Elected by Peers)
- 2 Guidance Counselors (Elected by Peers)
- 2 Principals (Elected by Peers, 1 Elementary and 1 High School)
- 1 School bus Operator (Elected by Peers)
- 1 Child Welfare and attendance (Elected by Peers)
- 1 School board member (Elected by Peers)
- 1 Superintendent or Designee
- 2 Parents (Appointed)
- The selection process for school staff first involves a survey of all employees to solicit those interested in serving on the committee.
  - If there is only one volunteer for any area, that volunteer is selected to the committee by default.
  - In areas where multiple volunteers express interest, a follow-up election will be completed using a survey form to that group of peers.
- First student Drivers elects the School Bus Operator Representative.
- The Child Welfare and Attendance Supervisor is a singular staff position.
- The School Board Member is at a regular School Board Meeting by peers.
- The Superintendent appoints his designee.
- The two parent representatives were selected based on Board Member and Principal recommendations.

## Below is a list of the current (2021) 16-member committee:

## Members are selected in December to serve for 1 Calendar Year

Required Position	Member	Organization
Elementary Teacher	Lettimarie Nezianya	ZELC
Elementary Teacher	DeAnna Okert	ZES
Elementary Teacher	Beverly Hill	CMES
Middle School Teacher	Trish Dry	NMS
High School Teacher	Annie Freeman	ZHS
Special Education Teacher	Crystal Davis	ZHS/SPED
Guidance Counselor	Ladrika White	Elementary Guidance
Guidance Counselor	Wytika Beard	Middle/High School
		Guidance
Elementary Principal	Jennifer Marangos	RPES
High School Principal	Tim Jordan	ZHS
Child Welfare & Attendance	Monte Burke	Main Office
School Bus Operator	Skye Lawrence	First Student
School Board Member	Beth Kimmel	ZCSB
Superintendent's Designee	Aeneid Mason	Main Office
Parent	Cindy Hilton	Parent MS/HS
Parent	Mark Marionneaux	Parent Elem/MS/HS